Chit Chat Tuesday: Dealing With Acne

This week I wanted to talk a bit about skin care, so it’s only fitting to write a post about dealing with acne and what helped me deal with the psychological effects of it.

Having acne isn’t as simple as just having a few spots that you feel the need to cover with makeup, it is incredibly debilitating to someone’s mental health and confidence. Due to the fact we live in a society that is so focused on appearance and perfection, this makes acne ten times harder to deal with.

It’s safe to say I had pretty bad acne in high school, to the point where when I wore no makeup into school for the first time a girl came up to me and told me how ugly and disgusting my skin/face was.

I personally found it wasn’t necessarily my face with no makeup that was what bothered me, surprisingly it was when I had my makeup on. This was because no matter how much I put on my acne would not cover, this was incredibly hard for me to accept because I could not get my head around the fact that something that was designed to hide it, simply couldn’t. After trying multiple creams and gels I eventually ended up going on acne medication to fix the problem and it did the job for the most part.

Our brains are programmed to believe that the second we see something that is considered to be abnormal on our face we automatically assume it is ugly and it is making ourselves ugly. I think it is important to keep in mind acne is not permanent and remind ourselves to look at the bigger picture, that it won’t be there forever. It may seem like it is never going to go when you are faced to look at it on a day to day basis, but it will, in some cases it just takes longer than others. I had constant bad acne for three years and to this day it still occasionally flairs up, my skin is never constantly clear for a large amount of time.

For me, when it flairs up now, it’s just about accepting it and not becoming to fixated on it like I was in High School. The second you become fixated on something that you cannot change in that moment is when it starts to effect your mental health.

Another way to deal with having acne is to understand you are not alone in having it. The truth of the matter is thousands of people everywhere have it or are going to get it. The people who say acne is ugly or call you ugly for having it are not going to have perfectly clear skin their whole lives. Yes they may not get acne but they will without a doubt get at least one spot in their lifetime and will at some point get a sense of how you felt whether it is on a big or small scale.

Let go of the idea that everything about you has to be perfect 24/7, if everyone was societies depiction of perfect 24/7 we would all look the same and the world would be an extremely boring place. Understand that your acne isn’t ugly, it is just a temporary part of your life that will help shape you as a person. Try to use it to shape you positively as a person.

Unfortunately having acne is something that you cannot understand unless you have it. It is more than just a few spots, it is all you can focus on and just whacking on a bit of spot cream doesn’t quite cut it.

My next post is going to be some tips on how I treated my acne if you fancy giving that a read once it is up?

Thanks for reading! I hope this was helpful to some of you!

Lots Of Love x

Leave a Reply

