5 Things To Consider Before Getting A Pixie Cut

Something you probably don’t know about me is that I use to have a pixie cut. Prior to getting one I had always admired the pixie cut. To me there is something so empowering about a female breaking stereotypes and rocking a super short haircut.

However, a pixie cut is a huge commitment and a massive change. I didn’t realise how much it changed my look until I grew my hair back out to the length it is now. Having gone through all the stages of growing out a pixie, it’s safe to say I have a good idea of what you should consider before you get one.

Make Sure it is Something You Genuinely Want

Yes, this is extremely obvious. However it is one of the most important points I will make in this post, due to it being such a massive change and one that takes an incredibly long time to grow out. A lot of people go through stages in their lives where they want to make a spontaneous change in their appearance, this is obviously a very normal part of life. I urge you to make sure a pixie cut is not a spontaneous decision and instead is something you have genuinely been wanting and thought about for a long time.

Will Your Desired Pixie Cut Suit You

I am a firm believer that everyone can rock a pixie cut. However, certain pixie cuts are better suited to certain face shapes, so before you make the big decision research what style cuts would suit you. Don’t just look at a picture on Instagram or Pinterest of your favourite film star or model and get that haircut because it looks great on them as they may have a completely different face shape to you.

It Isn’t as Easy to Style as You Think

When you think short hair something you instantly think is how easy it must be to style. I always had people say to me ” your hair must take like 5 minutes to style.” Whilst yes straightening and curling my pixie cut took a lot less time than it does now, getting it to the stage where I would be able to style it was the longest part of the process of doing my hair.

Due to it being so short when I would get up in the morning a good 90-95% of my hair would be spiked up all the way round my head, and flattening it back down was always a struggle in the morning. Unlike long hair you can never really just leave it how it is and it would be fine for the day, it requires styling and touching up throughout the day.

Are you Prepared for the Awkward Growth Stage

Unless you can afford to get a beautiful weave or a full head of hair extensions fitted, if you decide to grow your hair back out it is more than likely you will go through an awkward hair growth stage.

I found the awkward hair stage quite difficult. Whilst yes I have the opinion that hair is just hair and does not define beauty in any way, shape or form, the way my hair grew out made my face look so different and did not suit me at all and took away a fair bit of my confidence. I found myself wearing half wigs to build my confidence during the day and tied my hair as much as I could using hair ties and hair pins at night just to avoid seeing my actual hair.

Some people never have the awkward stage and their hair grows out looking awesome but unfortunately mine did not and I really hated it.

It Takes a Long Time to Grow Back

Another obvious point coming your way, but I feel people don’t actually consider how long it actually takes to grow back because I certainly didn’t. I got my pixie cut on the 9th July 2015 and I didn’t start growing it out until about 3 months after, since then my hair has taken that length of time to grow to where it is now.

It’s not like getting your hair cut to your shoulders where if you hate it you can tie it up, with a pixie cut there is no hiding it due to it being so short.

Thanks for reading I hope this post was helpful for anyone considering a pixie cut. Don’t worry on what societies view on short hair is, if you genuinely want it go ahead and get it! Who cares what any one else has to say, and once you have it own it!

Lots Of Love x

Leave a Reply

