Logan: Movie Review

WARNING THIS REVIEW WILL FEATURE SPOILERS MID WAY THROUGH! I WILL HOWEVER WARN YOU PRIOR TO READING THEM! IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE MOVIE AND DO NOT WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS ONLY READ THE FIRST AND END PART OF THIS REVIEW!

ENJOY!

So today I fancied doing something a little different to my regular posts and being an avid movie goer thought I would start writing brief movie reviews every so often. Let me know if you wish to read more of these and what film you would like me to review next!

On to the review!

Something you may not know about me is that I am a MASSIVE Marvel fanatic and adore the whole franchise, making anything remotely Marvel related genuinely exciting for me. This means when Logan was announced I was rather looking forward to it. Granted Marvel studios no longer actually own the rights to X-Men/Wolverine and therefore did not make the actual film it is still a film about a Marvel Super hero or “Mutant” I should say.

An Overview Of My Thoughts On The Film

This film was highly anticipated by myself and I am pleased to announce that it did not disappoint! Yes if we are getting nit picky there were some things that I personally felt should have been different, but I will get into that later on.

I cannot even begin to express how entertaining this film was, leaving me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Fellow fans will know that Wolverine films typically focus on the dark and the gritty, maybe throwing in the odd bit of humour here and there but for the most part are relatively dark. Whereas other Marvel films tend to have that typical Marvel humour and take themselves less seriously in comparison to other franchises such as DC, this is a Marvel trait that fans love. However when watching Logan it is important to separate it from the likes of Guardians Of The Galaxy and Ant Man and understand this will be a completely different style to them!

For me I felt Logan was very emotion based, more so than action. This does not mean it lacked in action and fight scenes because trust me it was jam packed with them, it just focused more on the story of the characters and their relationships between one another as appose to having explosions or a battle of some sort every five minutes. I felt it connected more with the emotions of the audience than any other Marvel hero film.

We were able to see a different side to the characters that we are not necessarily use to. Charles, someone who has the most powerful mind on the planet and can pretty much take on anyone showed a very vulnerable side to him. This lovable and adored character by the Marvel community definitely tugged on the heart strings and became somewhat relatable, as the film focused on something about his character that effects all of us at some point in our lives making it all the more emotional to watch.

We see Logan (Wolverine) let his walls down more and more throughout the movie and go from this tough, guarded character to both emotional and physically vulnerable. Building a bond with X-23 that although predictable still beautiful to watch.

The acting in this movie could not be faulted, the entire cast gave an incredible and believable performance. As always Patrick Stewart didn’t disappoint and in my opinion made the entire film acting wise, followed by the extremely talented Hugh Jackman who delivered the best acting performance I personally feel he has ever done and was completely at his prime in this movie. Dafne Keen, the young actress playing X-23 also impressed me, they could not have chosen a more perfect actress for the role and I look forward to seeing her career blossom in the X-men franchise.

WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD! IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO SEE THEM I HIGHLY RECOMMEND SKIPPING TO THE END!

Some Negatives

There are very few negatives for me when it comes to this film and I do feel the positives definitely out weigh the negatives. However something that bothered me was the way Charles died in the movie. The death, although shocking, seemed very rushed and a character that played such a big part in the Marvel franchise deserved a bigger and better send off. Seconds prior to his death he talked about remembering what he did, crying whilst he spoke and going on to say how he did not deserve the wonderful night he had been given because of his past. Although his performance in this specific scene was absolutely incredible, I felt this part was also very rushed and what he was talking about should have been more explained through something like a flashback.

The rush of his death took an important part of the movie, that could have potentially been very emotional and made it seem like a very average, anti-climactic death.

There were also a few minor errors when it came to the back story of X-23, however I feel only avid X-men fans who have read the comics will notice these minor errors.

SPOILERS END HERE!

Conclusion

Overall I would highly recommend watching this film. I loved seeing a more raw and real version of these powerful characters. It was beautifully shot, a roller coaster of emotions and had some awesome and intense action/fighting sequences to keep all you action lovers entertained.

Thanks For Reading! I hope you enjoyed!

Lots Of Love,

Lottie x

instalogo2

Insta

twitter-logo

Twitter

pinterest-logo

Pinterest

Leave a Reply

