DIY-ING My Own Eyelash Extensions! (it was a disaster)

lashes1.jpg

They say false eyelashes are like an addiction, in the sense that once you start wearing them on a day to day basis it is hard to stop and when you do your makeup just never looks complete.

I can definitely relate to this, however working a job where I start at 7:30 every morning, I tend to choose sleep over glam. I have had eyelash extensions and loved having them until I came to the disappointing realisation that my minimum wage paying career and being an adult who has to prioritise more important things over eyelashes, the upkeep was just too much money for the time being.

So what does my cheap self think? I know! I’ll just “Do it myself,” and  I dove into the realm of DIY-ing.

I initially didn’t plan on writing a post on this but it was such a fail I decided I would write one for educational purposes.

What I Used:

Eylure Lash Pro Lashes and Brit Rocks Vintage Lash Clusters

lashes3.jpg

Ultra Plus Lash Extension Glue- If you are looking for a strong lash extension glue this product definitely ticks that box. This will be explained later in the story. However it is so strong that even putting it near your lashes (not on but near) will leave your eyes watering/stinging. Thankfully I am “gifted” with the talent of keeping one eye closed and on eye open for extended periods of time.
The glue does also state on the bottle “do not allow contact with eyes and skin” you would think that this would detour me from using the product wouldn’t you?

lashes2.jpg

I did order medical tape for under my eyes but that hadn’t arrived and I was too impatient to wait so I just used cheap under eye gel patches that continuously fell off my face during the entire application process.

lashes4.jpg

My journey began on the infamous Amazon where I researched the various lash extension glues and basically picked the cheapest one that had the highest star rating. I purchased the glue for £11.00 with the Eylure lashes (my go to individual lash brand) and also purchased some extra lashes from Brit Rocks Vintage just in case I ran out of lashes with only one eye complete. There was nothing special about this particular brand I was just simply trying to spend as little money as possible.

Now I am not going to lie to you, I completely messed up to begin with by putting too many long lashes from the middle to the outer corner of my eye, thus leading to me attempting to cut them down. Not only did I cut them to the point of looking utterly ridiculous but also most likely cut my actual eyelashes. Being the pure genius I am I simply ripped out the lashes (instead of using the lash extension remover I had purchase ready for this exact scenario to happen) and re-glued a couple more clusters back on to avoid looking like a complete fool when going to work.

To be completely honest they looked fairly decent and I did receive a fair few compliments, my lash extension situation was beginning to look positive…

UNTIL…

A week had passed and as expected a couple of clusters had fallen off and like the professional beautician I am I proceeded to glue them back on.  It was in that moment I had instant regret as I began to feel an intense burn in my left eye, this was in fact the eyelash glue. In my panic from the fear that I had potentially blinded myself I frantically washed my eye with warm water. This only intensified the pain, leading the frantic panicking to increase.

Fortunately I still had my handy eyelash extension remover, pouring the product onto a cotton pad with one eye closed as tightly as possible and making questionable noises from the intense burning, I proceed to vigorously rub my closed eye with the product. The burning sensation had not only gotten worse in my eye but was now on my eyelid as well!

After and hour of pain both mentally and physically, I had finally got the lashes off. Thankfully my eyesight was not affected during this ordeal like I feared, but I was left with broken and ripped out lashes in my left eye and I cannot go a day without finding at least 5 eyelash clusters in my room.

So ladies and gentlemen, if you are like me and prefer to do everything yourself instead of paying for a professional to do it, I would highly recommend you either be extremely careful, research/study the application of eyelash extensions fully beforehand or get someone who knows what they are doing to help you and don’t follow by my example.

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed!
Lots Of Love,

Lottie x

One thought on “DIY-ING My Own Eyelash Extensions! (it was a disaster)

Leave a Reply

